Home » Events » Wadada Leo Smith – CREATE Festival 2018 Night 1

Wadada Leo Smith – CREATE Festival 2018 Night 1

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 04/07/2018
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Firehouse 12


Add This Event to Your Calendar


Legendary composer and trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith presents the Second Annual CREATE Festival in New Haven, CT, a two-day celebration and exploration of his inventive and unclassifiable music that will feature world or US premiere performances of four new suites. Taking place Saturday, April 7 and Sunday, April 8, 2018 at Firehouse 12. The festival will include performances by five separate ensembles over two evenings and include an exhibit of Smith’s Ankhrasmation Symbolic Language Scores. Performances take place at 7PM each evening; exhibition walk-through on Sunday at 3PM. A full schedule of events is below. Tickets are $30 for each of the concerts; $55 for both. There is no charge for the exhibit.


7PM Performance

Lamar Smith Ensemble: Number One* composed by Lamar Smith

  • Lamar Smith – guitar
  • Hardedge – electronics
  • Thurman Barker – drums

Kosmic Music Ensemble – Dark Matter, Dark Energy: The Unseen Suite* composed by Wadada Leo Smith

  • Wadada Leo Smith – trumpet
  • Bobby Naughton – vibraphone
  • Sylvie Courvoisier – piano
  • Lamar Smith – guitar
  • Thurman Barker – drums
  • Jawara – jimbe, percussion

Great Lakes Quartet: The Great Lakes Suite composed by Wadada Leo Smith (USA Premiere)

  • Wadada Leo Smith – trumpet
  • Jonathan Haffner – alto, soprano saxophone
  • John Lindberg – bass
  • Thurman Barker – drums

All Performances: Jesse Gilbert – video artist


3PM Exhibition

7PM Performance

Harriet Tubman – President Obama’s Speech at The Selma Bridge composed by Wadada Leo Smith (USA Premiere)

  • Brandon Ross – guitar
  • Melvin Gibbs – bass
  • J. T. Lewis – drums
  • Wadada Leo Smith – trumpet

Golden Quintet – Peace, Love and Liberty: Compassion and Respect For a Tolerant World: A Suite* composed by Wadada Leo Smith

  • Wadada Leo Smith – trumpet
  • Anthony Davis – piano
  • Ashley Walters – cello
  • Pheeroan akLaff – drums
  • Jesse Gilbert – video artist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.